By Arielle Mullen

True or false: Once Location History is shut off in your mobile device's account settings, Google can no longer track you. 

If you answered "true," you're incorrect. A recent AP investigation found that even when Location History is disabled, Google still tracks users if they open Google Maps, use the search function in a browser, or receive automatic weather updates. While this pesky problem affects anyone running Google Maps on their Android or iPhone, there is a way to solve it. 

To successfully shut off location tracking, sign into your Google account on a browser on your desktop or iOS, or via the Android settings menu. Navigate to the Google Account dropdown in the upper right corner, then to Personal Info & Privacy > Go to My Activity > Activity Controls > Data & Personalization. Once there, you'll see Web & App Activity, which you can toggle to the off position. 

Recommended for you…